General Assembly/Convention of FORWARD Nepal

FORWARD Nepal’s 9th General Convention was held following 19th General Assembly on 12th February, 2016 at Hotel Red Carpet, Narayangarh, Chitwan, under the chairmanship of Prof. Dr. Naba Raj Devkota, Chairperson of the organization. With the presence of 76 % of its active members, it was declared comfortable for conduction of the convention as per its by-law.

The program was facilitated by Mr. Ram Prasad Dhungana, Secretary, FORWARD Nepal. In this program, Mr. Krishna Bahadur Bhandari, Senior Admin Officer, presented the status of employees' Welfare Fund. Likewise, Mr. Ram Krishna Neupane, the representative of FORWARD Nepal to GATE Nepal, shared about the recent Annual General Assembly of the above company where FORWARD Nepal has invested NPR 12,197,681.96. Similarly, Executive Director, Mr. Netra Pratap Sen shared implementation of five years' strategic plan of the organization. He placed emphasis on the possibility of low-cost office building construction in its own land within next one year at Kalyanpur, Chitwan. He also shared the revised Organizational Principle and Guiding policies including GESIP and Child Right Policy. Ms. Sunita Shrestha, Acting Treasurer presented the audited Income and Expenditure and Balance Sheet of FORWARD Nepal and Tentative Budget Forecast for current fiscal year 2016/17 in the assembly, and was passed by the General Assembly. The total fund mobilization of last year was reported to be NPR 68,117,426 and projection for 2016/17 was NPR 249,650,000 Furthermore, the Chairperson thanked everyone for the cooperation and support they had been providing during his tenure, and expressed his best wishes to the new Executive Committee.

An election committee was formed under the coordination of Mr. Ram Mani Poudyal, Founder Member including Mr. Yam Bahadur Thapa, Founder Member and Dr. Ujjal Tiwari, Member. The committee formulated a code of conduct to be followed and briefed it to the members in the house for the nomination and election of new committee.

New executive committee of FORWARD Nepal was formed with a tenure of 3 years as follows:
1. Prof. Madhav Kumar Shrestha, PhD - Chairman,
2. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Durga Devkota, PhD - Vice-chairman
3. Mr. Dharma Prasad Pande - Secretary
4. Ms. Sunita Shrestha - Treasurer
5. Mr. Purna Bahadur Chemjong - Member
6. Mr. Krishna Bahadur B.K. - Member (Farmers' representative)
7. Mr. Dinesh Babu Thapa Magar - Member
8. Ms. Madhu Shah - Member
9. Ms. Sabita Chepang - Member
10. Dr. Narayan Prasad Khanal - Member
11. Ms. Maiya Giri - Member

Additionally, wishes and commitments of support to the new committee were delivered by Prof. Naba Raj Devkota, Mr. Netra Pratap Sen and Mr. Ram Mani Poudyal. Finally, Prof. Dr. Madhav Kumar Shrestha, Chairperson, thanked all members for trusting him for the chairmanship of a reputed organization, like FORWARD Nepal, and committed to work for the benefits of the organization to the best of his ability. He also requested everyone for their cooperation to make FORWARD Nepal a committed organization to provide better services to the needy people in the society in the field of its expertise and objective.

New Executive Committee of FORWARD Nepal, (Second row)

Posted date: 

Tuesday, March 1, 2016